National scholarship program announces 1,600 semifinalists

Tara, Madison Prep, McKinley, Scotlandville post EBR tourney wins
January 5, 2015
Baton Rouge teen cares for all animals, runs business with 200 homing pigeons
June 3, 2015

National scholarship program announces 1,600 semifinalists

Ill More than 1,600 black high school seniors were named Tuesday as semifinalists in the 51st annual National Achievement Scholarship Program.

These students will compete for approximately 800 Achievement Scholarship awards worth about $2.5 million.

The National Achievement Scholarship Program, a privately financed academic competition, was created in 1964 to recognize academically promising black students and provide scholarships to program participants.

All awardees will be selected from the finalist group on the basis of their abilities, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

Two types of scholarships will be offered. Every finalist will compete for one of the 700 one-time National Achievement $2,500 scholarships, which will be awarded on a regional representation basis. In addition, corporate and business sponsors will underwrite about 100 Achievement Scholarship awards for finalists.

The semifinalists for Louisiana include:


Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy

Edward K. Johnson; Kristen R. Stamp


Baton Rouge Magnet H. S.

Christian A. Beauchamp; Gabrielle C. Holmes; Daniel Joseph; Gabrielle J. Webb

McKinley H. S.

Asha Mayweather; Kelvin P. Wells

St. Joseph’s Academy

Sarah C. Bertrand; Lauren E. Franklin; Chamberlynn L. McGriggs

University Laboratory School

Manon P. Bart


Hahnville H. S.

Julian J. Turner



Chelsey M. Christopherson


Episcopal School Of Acadiana

Ajani M. Aubrey; Moses M. Kitakule


Destrehan H. S.

Kayla D. Ceaser


Dutchtown H. S.

Destin D. Gustave


Thomas Jefferson H. S.

Erin N. Boudoin; Amy A. Conner; Jerron E. Johnson; Anfernee M. Murray


Helen Cox H. S.

Roderick C. Daniels



Gabrielle C. Douglas

Lafayette H. S.

Toluwani O. Adoun

Teurlings Catholic H. S.

Kynnedie B. Maloz


Haynes Academy For Advanced Studies

Darius Hayes; Dennis C. Stokes


Ouachita Parish H. S.

Scott R. Daniel; Orlandria N. Freemont


Louisiana School For Math, Science and the Arts

Hali D. Ledet; Marissa D. Scott


Benjamin Franklin H. S.

Efuntola K. Akinlana; Khephren M. Chambers; Ahli I. Chatters; Daja Henry; Jacqueline A. Howell; Ghita M. Johnson; Henrietta Katharine Jones; Anna A. Omojola; Jamia A. Steptore; Alyn E. Wallace

Jesuit H. S.

Jonathan M. Legier

Lusher Charter School

Aili E. Francis; Donald C. Lamotte; Madeleine C. LeCesne

Brother Martin H. S.

Aaron M. Detiege

Isidore Newman School

Jamie A. Hawkins; Jabiari J. Tyler

St. Katharine Drexel Preparatory School

Megan A. Preston

St. Mary’s Dominican H. S.

Caitlyn J. Heisser


Opelousas H. S.

Russell R. Williams


C. E. Byrd H. S.

Darrian C. Mills

Caddo Parish Magnet H. S.

Kieran E. Alford; Bilqis I. Williams

Loyola College Preparatory School

Elise N. Whitlock


Slidell H. S.

Cameron E. Ordone


West Feliciana H. S.

Ngozi V. Nwabueze


Zachary H. S.

Eddie M. Veal


click here to see this article on